Panchamukha Maha Ganapati

This temple is one of the few PanchaMukha Ganapati temples in India.

Pancha means five and mukha means face in Samskrit. PanchamukhaGanesha means five faced Ganapati. These five heads symbolize the five koshas in the subtile anatomy or the five states of life. The five koshas are:

  1. Annamaya kosha – The flesh body made of matter
  2. Pranamaya kosha – The breath body or energy body
  3. Manomaya kosha – The mental body
  4. Vighnnamaya kosha – The body of the Upper Consciousness
  5. Anandamaya kosha – The body of Cosmic Bless.

The fifth head of Ganesha represents the highest level of yogic experience or Anandamaya Kosha. It is a state of pure consciousness without qualification. It is considered the ultimate state of reaching God.

Ganesha is itself a powerful deity. He grants blessing readily. Panchamukhi Ganapati is the extremely powerful form of Ganesha. The serene atmosphere of prayer that Narasimhavanam offers makes this temple an ideal place to pray and meditate on the Lord and seek material comforts for self and loved ones.

Devotees can conduct Ganesha homas on days of their choice [except on Ekadashi]. There are daily pujas at the temple. Devotees can participate in the pujas. We encourage devotees to create an endowment and plan to visit the temple on birthdays, marriage anniversary and remembrance of their loved ones. They can plan to spend 30 minutes in meditation at this powerful temple and seek the bounty that Ganapati offers to his devotees. Please check the Participate page for more information.